Lost for Words

The first step is always the most difficult. I have wanted to start a blog for months now but it seems so daunting.  What if my “peek at life” is absolute drivel or utterly boring? What if, and this is my worst fear, I have nothing to say?

So this is the part that worried me the most, getting started. If I can just post this first blog and have done with it, then everything else will follow. It always does, doesn’t it? Leap and the net will appear. I hope so. I feel like a virgin on the verge. Should I or shouldn’t I? What the heck, here goes. As me old dad used to say, what’s the worst that can happen?

I recently left the city (Durban, South Africa) after having lived there nearly all my adult life, to live a country life in the Midlands of KwaZulu-Natal. About 10 years ago I realised that, as a stay-at-home mom, I had absolutely no assets.  I persuaded my husband, Peter, to cash in some policies and I bought a smallholding in an area called Nottingham Road. I built a house there and we visited the farm regularly for holidays and weekends, the intention being that Peter and I would eventually retire there. My daughter, Kiera, grumbled at the time that she would have preferred a holiday home at the beach but I made it very clear that I was doing this for me, not them. I didn’t know then how prophetic that would be.

I have two children. Kiera is the oldest by 6 years. She lived at home while she attended university in Durban but left home nearly three years ago to teach English in China and shows no signs of returning. My son, Alex, left home at the beginning of last year to go to university in the Cape. So in a sense I was made redundant, my job as a stay-at-home mom was effectively over and I hadn’t seen it coming. The empty nest syndrome hit me hard, so I did what I thought any sensible person in my position should do, I left home too.

I packed up and, with Peter’s blessing, headed for the hills, the misty, rolling hills of the Midlands to be precise. Have I substituted one empty nest for another or am I starting an exciting new chapter in my life? Who knows, one can but dream.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost for Words

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Lex says:

    Well done for the leap. A great start.A great way to get to know an old friend all over again.

  3. Hi Cathy,
    This is very brave of you, upping sticks and moving to the country, good for you, am impressed how you have taken action rather than hanging around.
    I am in a similar position, my wife is living and working in Londion and I am out here in the wilderness that is North Wales having a go at making something out of my life and following a life long passion to do my own art and make a living from it.
    Great idea to do a blog by the way – I will subscribe via RSS so I get the updates. By the way WordPress is a great choice very good web tool!
    Look forward to getting more posts soon!
    Bestest wishes x

Leave a Reply

