Growin’ in the Wind (apologies to Bob Dylan)

Early Autumn

Friends often ask me what I’ve got growing in the allotment. So I’ve decided to do a “Growin’ in the Wind” post every now and then, to show you what’s in season here, as well as my successes and failures.

a friendly ant on a raspberry flower

a friendly ant on a raspberry flower

I don’t use pesticides. My main concern is to get the soil right and try to keep everything as natural as possible since, as the song says, “the ants are my friends” – geddit?!

I’m about to harvest lima beans, broccoli, cauliflower, butternut, carrots and any mealies that have survived the dreaded borer. We’ve been eating courgettes and beetroot, which are now coming to an end. The lemon tree is laden with lemons and I’m also thrilled to see a granadilla on the vine I planted last year and baby apples for the first time.

As well as veggies and fruit, I grow cutting flowers in the allotment and the zinnias and cosmos are so beautiful at the moment.

allotment April 2011_edited-2

 

broccoli

broccoli

mealie

mealie

P1020852_edited-2

 

baby apples

baby apples

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growin’ in the Wind (apologies to Bob Dylan)

  1. Mark Muggeridge says:

    Nice photos Cathy, the granadilla looks promising!

Leave a Reply

