Growin’ in the Wind

Summer

Not much to tell you other than I’ve been working my butt off in the allotment these past two, scorching hot, weeks and I’m pleased to report that no weed is daring to show its wretched head and the dreaded kikuyu grass that invades everything here has been dispatched forthwith. The farm was once a kikuyu pasture for cattle so I fear it’s a bit of a losing battle but, as I’ve said before, I have perseverance, if nothing else. Perhaps that’s a good name for the farm, Perseverance, like a good old Western homestead. Ever since Essa left I’ve been trying to think of a new name for the farm, the current one is something that her children called the place when they were young and since they no longer have a stake here, I do think it’s time for a name-change.

When Essa was living here we employed a farm worker who worked for me for two days a week and for her the rest of the time. Kho now works for me full time and what a joy. I was worried at first that I wouldn’t have enough to keep him busy but there is ALWAYS something that needs to be attended to. He is more of a farm worker than a gardener, but he is learning very quickly that things have to look beautiful too. I usually work alongside him in the garden but I have to confess that the recent heat has been a bit too intense for me to work outdoors all day.

I spoke to Kiera on Skype today and she asked me to post some pictures of the farm, so here they are – your wish is my command!

wait for me

wait for me

my speckled pigeon pair, no longer called "rock" pigeon

my speckled pigeon pair, no longer called “rock” pigeon

sunbird of some sort!

sunbird of some sort!

the resident mBiba (three-striped grass mouse)

the resident mBiba (three-striped grass mouse)

could be a Disney cartoon character (if you click on the picture you can enlarge it and see it unfurl)

could be a Disney cartoon character (if you click on the picture you can enlarge it and see it unfurl)

dahlia

dahlia

the colour of summer

the colour of summer

rudbeckia

rudbeckia

recently manicured allotment

recently manicured allotment

Okay, so what’s growing in the wind?

gem squash

gem squash

sugar snap peas, like nothing I've ever tasted before - sweet and crisp and delicious

sugar snap peas, like nothing I’ve ever tasted before – sweet and crisp and delicious

I pick a handful of juicy strawberries every morning

I pick a handful of juicy strawberries every morning

brinjals and peppers coming on

brinjal and peppers coming on

our best potato harvest ever, and not a porcupine in sight (touch wood)

our best potato harvest ever, and not a porcupine in sight (touch wood)

out of focus carrots, still getting to grips with my new camera

out of focus carrots, still getting to grips with my new camera

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Growin’ in the Wind

  1. Gualtiero says:

    Salve Caterina, sempre sono felice quando leggo il tuo blog! Che una gioia per guadare la vita della fattori tua.

  2. Mark says:

    Lovely lovely lovely photo’s Cathy!
    Looks like you making the most of your Christmas present – thank you Santa

Leave a Reply

