Accentuate the Positive

 

I want to apologise in advance if this post turns out to be rather disjointed and a tad sentimental but at this point I don’t really have anything in mind to write about and am also feeling rather down in the dumps.  I want to write something because it’s been a year, to the day, since I started blogging but I’ve drawn a blank. And I’m feeling a bit lonely since Alex and Peter left for Durban today (Alex flies back to Cape Town at the crack of dawn tomorrow after a very short visit home).

my boy

Wow, a year since I started blogging; a year of ups and downs, just like any other I guess. However there were a few major events that happened during the course of these past 12 months that make it stand out from previous times. One of which was of course Kiera getting married and me having to deal with the realisation that not only does she now have a new place to call home but  that it is bloody far away. The apron strings have been well and truly severed, and at last I’m standing on my own two feet! Jokes aside, she is such a scarily sensible and insightful young person and I really do miss her counsel and ability to just get me, especially over a glass or two of wine during our supper time chats.

Another important turning point was Essa’s sale of her share in the farm and her subsequent departure from the farm and my life. I learned a lot about the nature of relationships from that experience. I now know that true friends make you feel good about yourself; they don’t put you, or your loved ones, down or make you doubt yourself. Life really is too short to surround yourself with negativity. And when you really feel comfortable in your own skin, it shows.

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.

I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size…..

I say,

It’s the fire in my eyes,

And the flash of my teeth,

The swing in my waist,

And the joy in my feet.

Maya Angelou: Phenomenal Woman

I’ve also learned how important it is, when everything seems to be going pear-shaped, to “accentuate the positive”. What is the point of dwelling on the negative? It doesn’t help one little bit. As Kiera says “You get back from the world what you put into it”.

And finally, we took the decision to sell our Durban house and for Peter to join me in the country. After many doubtful moments of questioning what the hell I was doing here, I finally find myself quite comfortable with the way it has all panned out. And I hope that Peter will come to love this way of life as I have.

I’m really looking forward to the next year of blogging.

I also love this version of the song. Who do you think it is?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Accentuate the Positive

  1. Adam Rice says:

    A turning point year I would say, and a great place to start a new phase of life.
    Making contact again and following your blog is certainly one of the high points in my year, and I expect turning 60 will be one in the coming year. Can’t believe I am ready for a bus pass and senior citizen status.
    My old work colleague Noeleen posted this today and it just hit a chord with me. http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2012/feb/01/top-five-regrets-of-the-dying?fb=optOut
    One could see it as quite sad but also as a positive direction for the future.
    Enjoy country life!
    ADAM

  2. Cathy says:

    A JOY TO BE OLD

    It’s a joy to be old.
    Kids through school,
    The dog dead and the car sold.

    Worth their weight in gold,
    Bus passes. Let asses rule.
    It’s a joy to be old.

    The library when it’s cold.
    Immune from ridicule.
    The dog dead and the car sold.

    Time now to be bold.
    Skinnydipping in the pool.
    It’s a joy to be old.

    Death cannot be cajoled.
    No rewinding the spool.
    The dog dead and the car sold.

    Don’t have your fortune told.
    Have fun playing the fool.
    It’s a joy to be old.
    The dog dead and the car sold.

    Roger McGough

Leave a Reply

