Rose Garden

My last Growin’ in the Wind post in early September was Almost Spring and very little was happening in the allotment, other than the rather stout stems of the asparagus, thrusting onward and upward (always a sign to me that spring is imminent). There are so many symbols of spring and all its associated fertility but, for me, nothing encapsulates the excitement and fecundity of spring better than the jolly old asparagus spear!

Njabulo spent a weekend with us recently and gave the allotment a “permaculture” makeover. We had initially enrolled him in a 3-month organic veg growing training programme but, after a month, we (and he) felt that this was not going to be the right direction for him. So we cancelled that idea and decided to go back to square 1, which is to help him get a driver’s license. With my own children I never had to think for them because I always trusted their judgement. With Njabulo I made the mistake of thinking I knew what was best for him and I didn’t listen to what he was trying to tell me. So now I’m listening and starting to trust him. Hopefully he knows better than me what will help him to get a job.

Njabulo-demo

I have been feeling quite tired and irritable recently, like the weight of the world is on my shoulders. I came across this quote by Seneca which seemed to sum up exactly how I have been feeling as simply as:

No untroubled day has ever dawned for me.

Of course, this is true for most people but the problem lies in how we deal with these daily “troubles” and I have been letting them get me down.

According to philosiblog

The world is full of troubles. Sometimes we can change them just by how we react to them or view them. There are some which are not going to change on their own, and might not change in our lifetime. It is one thing to tilt at windmills, but another entirely if you do it with a plan and some help.

Look forward to your troubles, and to facing them. There is a great thrill in overcoming an obstacle, in completing a task despite of the difficulties.

There will always be troubles in your life. Learn to classify them, and then tackle the ones which can be changed. And look forward to tomorrow and the next trouble on the horizon.

As the song says:

Along with the sunshine,  there’s gotta be a little rain sometimes

And if only the trouble was rain –

I don’t wish to alarm my kids, who read my blog from time to time and worry about our safety here in the middle of fucking nowhere, but we are having a bit of a problem with break-ins. Last week our neighbours were broken into (since the beginning of October there have been 35 burglaries reported at the Nottingham Road police station) and I had such a gut feeling that we were going to be next. I have ordered security doors (who would have thought) on all our external doors but in the meantime I asked my mum to move in with us at night. As I said in one of my previous posts, one of my worst nightmares is anything happening to her – well a couple of nights ago, while she was here with us, burglars broke into her wee house, ripping open her front and back doors. It threw us all and it has reached the stage of Peter waking up at midnight every night to keep cavey until 4 am to keep us all safe. Really!!

Does one harp on about these anxieties? I’ve shed my tears (paradise lost and all that shit) but no, whoever they are, we are surely a damn sight more sussed than them. And that must be our strength. That said, it’s not right that my mum locks herself in to her bedroom at night or that we take it in turns to keep guard at night against intruders.

On the bright side, things are looking good in the garden. And I have two floozies to keep me company.

Hattie, make a curtsy

Hattie, make a curtsy

And Rosie

And Rosie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rose Garden

  1. Chris says:

    It is often said that it is not the stress that does you in but how you deal with it. Dealing with it well is not a strength of mine and knowing that ‘it too shall pass’ is not always helpful when one’s shoulders are buckling so I empathise. It seems cruel that such a beautiful location and apparently idyllic lifestyle can come under such a threat especially when one inevitably feels so powerless to counter it. Keep safe.

    • Cathy says:

      I have perfected the ostrich “head in the sand” method of dealing with stress, which usually entails many hours spent weeding the front lawn, and not without a few glasses of wine. I believe in the notion that “it too shall pass” and although the sense of powerlessness is depressing, I can see light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. I was so excited to see your new post entitled “Rose Garden” and just knew that you would be starting off with Lynn Anderson’s “Rose Garden”. I was having such fun listening to the song until I started reading about the burglaries and then VERY upset to read that they had broken into Mum’s house!!!! Thank God you had the intution to move her into the house with you!! My wishes are that these effing thieves will be apprehended and you will once again be able to enjoy your idyllic lifestyle and that Rosie and Hattie lay many eggs for your brekkie. Like Chris says: Stay safe. x

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks for your concern; fortunately my mum has taken it all in her stride and is actually enjoying spending the evenings with us. Apparently some arrests have been made and all has been quiet for the past week. So I’m keeping fingers crossed. I was very excited to discover an egg yesterday morning, even though it was a bit on the small side!

  3. Hans says:

    Starts Happy and then Sad, not nice!
    Do you have a dog or two, or at least some geese?
    Be safe and take care.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Hans, we do have two dogs (although the one is a bit on the decrepit side). I do think that our labbie is the reason why no-one has tried to break into our house – touch wood.

  4. michele harpur says:

    Gosh Cath! Catching up on your.postings and going backwards in sequence. You must have been really tense and aware of every sound at night – and during the day. Really hope things calmed down now! Shit! Not good at all. Be safe.

    • Cathy says:

      Still waiting for our Trellidors – we were told that they would prioritise our order and get them in within 7 days. Ha, ha – fooled again! It drives me mad when people lie just to get your business. It makes me even madder when I believe them!

Leave a Reply

