What A Wonderful World

(thanks Judes for the title and thanks to Mark for the encouragement)

I’ve decided to include a regular “photo-essay” type post in my blog along the lines of Growin’ In The Wind but featuring photos which aren’t essentially of flowers or vegetables. I never thought that my photos would ever be good enough to tell a story but here goes.

I do think that it’s a wonderful world; there is always beauty even in the worst moments. And I know I’ve used this quote from American Beauty before but it kind of sums up the way I perceive things:

Lester Burnham: I had always heard your entire life flashes in front of your eyes the second before you die. First of all, that one second isn’t a second at all, it stretches on forever, like an ocean of time… For me, it was lying on my back at Boy Scout camp, watching falling stars… And yellow leaves, from the maple trees that lined our street… Or my grandmother’s hands, and the way her skin seemed like paper… And the first time I saw my cousin Tony’s brand new Firebird… And Janie… And Janie… And… Carolyn. I guess I could be pretty pissed off about what happened to me… but it’s hard to stay mad, when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once, and it’s too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst… And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life… You have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sure. But don’t worry… you will someday.

just another splendid sunset

just another splendid sunset

DSC_0057-1_edited-1

what a wonderful cloud formation

a wonderful cloud formation

pumpkins and squash out to dry

pumpkins and squash out to dry

DSC_0046_edited-1

dandelions are so delicious

Can't resist the flowers: Leucadendron salignum, the only Protea I've planted here that has survived

I can’t resist the flowers: Leucadendron salignum, the only Protea I’ve planted here that has survived

And one more flower: Hesperantha coccinea (Scarlet River Lily)

And one more flower: Hesperantha coccinea (Scarlet River Lily)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What A Wonderful World

  1. Adam Rice says:

    What beautiful photos Cathy, what a great idea to post them, you can put up as many as you like and you will always have me waiting for more. It is also nice to know you have collaborators in Judy & Mark.

  2. Be still my aching heart…….what wonderful pics Cathy!! Love the sunsets, great captures 🙂

    • Cathy says:

      Louise, you are too kind. We seem to have a lot in common, so next time I’m in Cape Town it would be really nice to meet you. Let me know if it’s possible for you. (I’m going to be visiting Alex over the Easter weekend in April).

Leave a Reply

