What a Wonderful World

This morning, on my way back to the house after visiting my hens, I came across a chameleon walking up our driveway. As I sat on the verge and watched it disappear into one of our liquidambar trees, I was quite overwhelmed by an incredible sense of privilege. I honestly cannot think of a better way to spend a Saturday morning than communing with my chickens (they love me, what more can I say) and enjoying the wildlife in my garden.

Since the wedding celebrations and Kiera’s departure for America, I have to confess that I have been a bit down in the dumps. I have languished in front of the telly, stuffing my face with all sorts of things that I know are not good for me and have not been paying attention, goddammit, to the world around me. But I think I am slowly coming right. And what helps me more than anything is this wonderful world that surrounds me.

Clockwise from top left: I'm  glad I'm a little green frog; baby deodar pine cones; and what I think is an acraea horta butterfly

Clockwise from top left: I’m glad I’m a little green frog swimming in the water; baby deodar  cones; and what I think is an african monarch butterfly

Clockwise from top left: pearls of dew; verbena bonariensis; liquidambar leaves starting to turn into autumn colours and a weed on the roadside

Clockwise from top left: pearls of dew; verbena bonariensis; liquidambar leaves starting to turn into autumn colours and a weed on the roadside

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

