Could it be any Harder

I hoped that saying goodbye to my children would get easier as the years go by but really, it just gets harder. A few weeks ago, out of the blue, Kiera was sent on a work trip to Zimbabwe. She called us from Johannesburg airport en route to Harare and we agreed how unbelievable it was that, despite her being so close, we were not going to see each other. To cut a long story short, Kiera was able to take a few days leave at the end of her trip to Zim and we arranged to meet up with her in Johannesburg for a long weekend before she flew back to America. It was all wonderfully unexpected and spontaneous.

Kiera’s good friend, Louise, lives in Johannesburg, and she arranged a few treats for us while we were there – Chinese massage (which sorted out every knot in my body and left me aching but feeling rather pleasantly zonked) and a trip to the beauty salon, which in my instance was long overdue. We also had the most splendid meal with Louise and her husband, Cameron, at a restaurant that I can highly recommend with the strange name Mon Petit Throbb (in Fourways) and afterwards we sat chatting in the garden of our lovely B&B ‘till gone midnight.

mon-petite-throbb

When we interact with people on a daily basis, we don’t usually take much notice of their inherent energy and just how much space they occupy in our world. It is only when they are no longer around that you feel the empty gap they have left behind and the tangible lack of their presence. I relished just being in the company of my daughter, feeling her near me and sensing her positive energy. When my children are happy, I’m happy and it was heart-warming to see her in such high spirits after a good visit to Zim. This was my consolation for having to say goodbye one more time, not knowing when we will get together again.

One of the unexpected benefits of spending time with my daughter was that she taught me how to use the navigational app on my iPhone. What a pleasure – I now want to travel to unknown locations just so that I can hear the dulcet tones of “South African Siri” as Kiera called her. I’ve always been the navigator in our family and what a pleasure it was to have someone (something) else assume that responsibility. Alex put a bit of a damper on my newfound discovery by telling me that it chews up data (as if I actually know what that means). I just really like learning new stuff!

the animals at our B&B were quite entertaining

the animals at our B&B were quite entertaining

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Could it be any Harder

  1. michele harpur says:

    Could Kiera look any more like you!!!! I am blessed to have both families near me for now – and don’t take it for granted at all as the word “transfer” get used a huge amount in work-related discussions!

    • Cathy says:

      As long as they stay in the same country Michele (I would be ecstatic with the same continent mind you). You are truly blessed, not only to have your family nearby but to be a granny as well – soooo lucky.

  2. Rod Holmes says:

    Nice one Cathy-short, sharp and to the point

  3. Jane Thornton says:

    Kiera is the absolute image of you! It is so hard. I have 3 spread across the globe. Luckily we are blessed to be able to catch up a few times a year – but it never feels like enough. I have my daughter Sarah visiting at the moment from Sydney with Noah (6 months) and loving every minute of it.

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Jane, you are so right – it never feels like enough. On the positive side is that we do get to travel! Enjoy your time with your daughter and grandson. I’m sure you appreciate every moment.

Leave a Reply

