Christmas in Miami

Well, that’s another Christmas done and dusted. This is our second Christmas in Miami and it’s definitely growing on me. First and foremost it is wonderful to be together with family and friends. And secondly the food is really good! We kicked off the celebrations with a Christmas Eve dinner of splendid Louisiana-style shrimp and stone crab, a Miami delicacy. This was topped off with Key Lime pie, to which I am particularly partial. For our Christmas dinner, a more British menu was favoured – roast beef, roasties and Yorkshire puddings; followed by summer pudding. Both evenings we ate outdoors under the beautiful full moon.

I missed my mum and Judy (and Layla and Buddy) but being able to spend Christmas with both my children, our American family and Louise and Cameron helped to compensate for that.

this is the gang: (from left to right) Maggie, Alex, Louise, James, Jim (and Winston, the pug), Kiera, Cameron, Mike, Jody, Susannah and Peter. In the bottom picture, substitute me for Louise.

The gang: (from left to right) Maggie (James’ sister), Alex, Louise, James, Jim (James’ father) (and Winston, the pug), Kiera, Cameron, Mike (James’ uncle), Jody (James’ mother), Susannah (James’ aunt) and Peter. In the bottom picture, substitute me for Louise.

Christmas Eve dinner

Christmas Eve dinner

this is the response I got when I asked everyone to show me their claws!

this is the response I got when I asked everyone to show me their claws!

Did I mention we also had Christmas brunch? James and Jim are wearing their traditional Zulu headbands (umuqele).

Did I mention we also had Christmas brunch? James and Jim are wearing their traditional Zulu headbands (umuqele).

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

