Lemon Tree

Some Days are Like That

So I woke up late on Sunday morning and, as usual, checked Facebook on the off chance that one of my Fb friends or pages that I follow had posted anything of interest. I clicked on a few links, watched some videos and read a few online articles before checking WordPress to see if anyone had read my previous blog and hope against hope that someone had left a comment (no-one had). I read a couple of blogs that I follow, including Maria Popova’s blog Brain Pickings which arrives on a Sunday. After that, I played Sky Bridge Club’s daily challenge; didn’t win it, tried again later, still didn’t win it. Finally I checked my emails, not much there either.

Peter brought me breakfast in bed (sourdough bread and local “boerenkaas” cheese bought at the Karkloof Market on Saturday) and the Sunday papers, which I skimmed through, nothing of interest there.

So I decided to plan my day, I have urgent admin stuff to do, like pay some outstanding accounts and deal with some tax issues. Before I can do this though, I have to tidy the house! I have to have a clean slate from which I can tackle the stuff I really don’t want to do. I also need to plant some lettuce seedlings and get my micro-greens going again.

By the time I got out of bed it was midday. I made some potato salad for my mum (that wasn’t on my to do list but our home grown potatoes are starting to swamp the kitchen so it was essentially part of the tidying up process). I then tackled the bedroom and unearthed some magazines that looked unfamiliar. So I settled down with another cup of tea and a slice of almond tart (also from the market) to read them.

Back to tidying up; our bedroom, en suite bathroom and Alex’s room got tidied and all unwanted and homeless items were dumped on the dining room table. Then Kiera and I chatted on Skype and Peter poured me a whiskey and soda (the sun was about to go over the yardarm). I was still in my PJs.

So that was that; another whiskey, another slice of cake, Downton Abbey and sleep. The dining room table, admin and veggies forgotten. Mañana.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lemon Tree

  1. Chris Ammann says:

    Cathy, I have long given up expecting responses to my own blog posts. Part of the problem is that I am a dreadful procrastinator and my posts are desperately irregular. I find I write for myself and if anyone reads it too, it’s a bonus. I’ve started writing a post based on my visit to SA and will have to be disciplined. But don’t lose heart – a lot more people will be reading, and enjoying, your posts than actually responding.

    • Cathy says:

      As you can see from my blog, I too am a terrible procrastinator and seldom comment on other blogs – it takes me ages to formulate a response. So when someone does take the time to comment on one of my posts, it really does make my day, but I don’t expect it! I look forward to your next post (and, by the way, you are a brilliant raconteur).

  2. Chris Ammann says:

    PS: the almond tart/whiskey combination sounds intriguing. I have found that banana and whiskey can work too.

  3. Adam Rice says:

    I immediately felt guilty pangs at devouring your blogs the instant you post them (or as soon as I next look at my computer actually) then not getting around to responding to them. I apologise and promise to do better!
    We had a similar Sunday to you, rose late, leisurely breakfast, and did little things around the house. Jenny started sorting our bookshelf and we ended up looking through old albums going right back to student days and beyond. It is great to look back on ones past mostly with pleasure and nostalgia but we were a bit disconcerted to see funny little things that we don’t remember, for example there were some guests at our wedding that we both did not remember being there at all, except there they are in the photos, also the odd snap of a place that we couldn’t place any more.
    My friend Barry has been doing some genealogy on my family and has found mail ship passenger lists of a visit my family made to to UK in 1959 when I was 6 or 7. Although living in S Rhodesia we left from Cape Town and returned to Beira in Mozambique. I have only vague recollections of being on the ship and no idea at all why the voyages were done that way. It made me think about memory and how important and complex it all is. It also made me think about being listed on a ship register that is now in the public domain which feels slightly strange.

    • Cathy says:

      Lovely to hear from you Adam. Don’t feel guilty, you’ve always been very encouraging. I also travelled to the UK on a Union Castle ship when I was 3 yrs old. Of course I can’t remember anything about the trip but when I was older I used to love visiting the ocean liners when they docked in Port Elizabeth. I would be consumed by wanderlust as soon as I set foot on board. Don’t you have any memories of crossing the equator? Apparently that was always a lot of fun.

  4. Louise says:

    I still follow your blog and always mean to leave a comment, I’m just so happy you are still writing and entertaining us all 😊That sounds like the perfect Sunday, at least you had an inkling of good intentions, even got a few done! Luckily there is tomorrow 😊

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Louise, it’s nice to know you are still following my blog. I do tend to start off with good intentions but carry through is not one of my strong points. But, as you say, thank goodness for tomorrow.

  5. Mike Hogan says:

    I enjoy your blog but like Adam I am pretty slack about commenting. Living in Oz you reach out to what you knew in SA. My grandparents farmed in Mooi River and Rosanne’s grandparents lived in Howick. We have spent so much time in the Natal midlands and miss that so much. What you write makes me a bit homesick!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Mike, thanks for your comment. Sadly many of the farms in Mooi River are lying fallow now as farming in the area seems to be dying out. I too am nostalgic about the old days when people farmed the land. It was a simple but more abundant way of life.

Leave a Reply

