Feelin’ Groovy

 

Okay 2016, stop, enough already! Not only has the year been fairly unkind so far but it’s also moving too damn fast. I wish I could just rewind the past few months, start over and this time be better prepared. It feels like I got out on the wrong side of the bed after we returned from America in mid-January and I’ve been a bit out of sorts ever since. It doesn’t help that I’m struggling to get on top of things; as the year gathers momentum, I seem to be playing catch-up the whole time. This is particularly the case in the allotment where autumn has really caught me on the wrong foot and I haven’t got half of our winter veggies in. I have this nagging sense that time is just passing me by and that I’m constantly reacting to situations rather than being proactive. Although, I can’t quite put my finger on what exactly it is I should be doing.

If my external world took a knocking in the first quarter of the year, it is now my body’s turn to experience a bit of bad luck. It started with the shoulder injury. Then, after a week of staving off a head cold with plenty of vitamin c and rest, I finally succumbed to the dreaded lurgy. It appears that the snotty nose was just the viral advance guard; the main bacterial army arrived under cover of night and took occupation of my lungs, the chink in my armour. (A lung function test last year revealed rather disconcertingly that I have the lungs of an 81 year old!) It meant that I missed my niece’s daughter’s 21st party and a gathering of the clan in Pinetown. I was sad about that and spent a miserable day in bed feeling sorry for myself. However, after seeing the doctor and taking the prescribed meds, I have recovered but it’s left me quite worn out.

At about the same time as I got bronchitis, I had what my doctor thinks was a deep vein thrombosis. Without any warning I got such an excruciating pain in my foot that I couldn’t walk on it and then it turned a rather alarming shade of purple. The pain, which felt like a cramp, lasted about 20 minutes and left my foot swollen and sore to touch. The next day my calf also felt quite tender. The doc prescribed a daily dose of aspirin to reduce the risk of future blood clots. I have to confess that, despite it being agony and very scary, I’m not so sure that I want to take aspirin every day for the rest of my life on the supposition that it was a DVT and on the off chance that it may happen again. I know that health issues do not make for scintillating reading but I got very helpful advice when I wrote about my rotator cuff problem. So I mention the DVT episode in case any of you may have experienced one. I would also be interested to hear your thoughts on taking aspirin long term.

Right then, I think I’ve whinged enough and, in the words of Johnny Mercer, it’s now time to Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive and start reviewin’ the attitude of doin’ right!

You’ve got to accentuate the positive
Eliminate the negative
And latch on to the affirmative
Don’t mess with Mister In-Between

You’ve got to spread joy up to the maximum
Bring gloom down to the minimum
Have faith or pandemonium’s
Liable to walk upon the scene

I love that last line: “Have faith or pandemonium’s liable to walk upon the scene”. Pandaemonium is the capital of Hell in Milton’s Paradise Lost; it’s the abode of all the demons. Well, I obviously need to brush the dust off my faith in positive thinking because I’ve been defaulting to the negative and those bloody little demons are definitely getting past the salt! So, on with the positive ….. next post, I promise.

P.S.

Recently I joined a camera interest group in Nottingham Road. We’re a bunch of amateur photographers lead by Derrick, an accomplished wildlife photographer who is very generous in sharing his expertise with us. The group meets once a month to discuss various aspects of photography and share photos on an agreed theme. Those of you who read my blog regularly will know that I take a lot of photos of my garden and fortunately for me the theme for the first meeting I attended was “my garden”. I was awarded the floating trophy (which is a gorgeous old box Brownie mounted on a wooden plinth, created by Derrick) for this photo of a water lily, taken several years ago with my old Panasonic camera. I was right proper chuffed, I was.

I was awarded the floating trophy (which is a gorgeous old box Brownie mounted on a wooden plinth, created by Derrick) for my photo of a water lily, taken several years ago with my old Panasonic camera. I was right proper chuffed, I was.

the floating trophy

the floating trophy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feelin’ Groovy

  1. Louise says:

    Hello darkness my old friend…….oh stop it Louise, just joking Cathy, I haven’t chatted to you in a while although I still read all your blogs, must say I totally agree with you, 2016 has been very unkind thus far, many of my friends have been taken by the dreaded cancer, one wonders if you just have to throw your arms in the air and say “ah well that’s that then, cancer will be my demise, no surprise”……….

    Sorry to hear that you have been having a right time of it, thankfully you are still being tested and haven’t had to throw your arms in the air
    I have a friend whose father had high blood pressure and cholesterol which caused a fatal heart attack at 45 and she has been taking Aspirin everyday since she was 30 (as these symptoms are usually genetic) and is now 57. It helps to thin the blood, so its either that or Ecotrin everyday?

    On a happier note I am ecstatic to hear that you have joined a Photography club, I have always loved your photographs and have forever believed that you have true talent, which was justly rewarded with the beautiful “Brownie award”. Well done Cathy, keep clicking and stop worrying about catching up, you already have, now its time to cruise…………;)
    Lots of love Louise
    P.S. Have you had a look at Lulu’s Loot?

    • Cathy says:

      Hello Louise, it’s good to know that other people also think in lyrics! It sure feels like our generation is being targeted by the dreaded cancer – so many 50/60 year olds being affected. I’m wondering if there is a common denominator other than age.

      Thanks for your belief in my talent – your comment “stop worrying about catching up, you already have, now its time to cruise” really made me stop and think – maybe the topic of another post!

      I think your jewellery is stunning – so creative. Do you sell online or do you have an outlet? I don’t wear much jewellery anymore but I do love it, especially pieces that are hand made and less “ordentlik” like yours.

      Thanks for staying in touch and for your support. Love, Cathy

  2. michele harpur says:

    Proper Professional photograph!!! Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

