Synchronicity

In December last year I wrote a post (Happy Together) about the online permaculture course that I had just completed. At the end of the course we were challenged to take what we had learned, do something with it and post it on the course’s Facebook page. I decided to focus on the permaculture principle “Integrate rather than Segregate” and I shared my response to the challenge (which was about volunteering at a local farm school) on my blog. What I didn’t mention in my post was that the challenge was called the 10/10/100 Challenge; the reason being that  “Participants [were] challenged to bring their course experience into the world with something of value within 10 days of the course, 10 hours of work and no more than $100 of the participants currency (or relative value)”.

After reading my blog a very generous person, who wishes to remain anonymous, contacted me out of the blue to say that he wished to donate R10,000 to the Educational Trust that I sit on to “bring some happiness” to the children of the Curry’s Post Primary School.  I was quite overwhelmed by this act of kindness and it took several days for it to sink in – that someone would respond in such a positive way to my blog was mind-blowing and hugely gratifying.

It took a while for the dust to settle before I saw the “meaningful coincidence” between the amount donated and the title of the challenge, namely that 10 x 10 x 100 = 10,000. Now, how’s that for synchronicity? Carl Jung first explained synchronicity as events that are “meaningful coincidences” if they occur with no causal relationship yet seem to be meaningfully related. Jung related these meaningful coincidences to the “collective unconscious”.  I’ve always liked the idea that we’re more connected to each other than we think.

At a Trust meeting earlier this week, I was given full discretion in deciding how to spend the money and after much consideration I’ve decided to use it to help start a school marimba band! I reckon that should bring a lot of happiness, not only to the children of Curry’s Post but also the community and I hope our anonymous benefactor (who I know has a love of music) will approve. Siyabonga kakhulu.

P.S. I know nothing about marimba bands and any advice on the matter would be gratefully received.

let's get this party started - impromptu performance at end of year school party

let’s get this party started – impromptu performance at the end-of-year school party

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Synchronicity

  1. Louise says:

    Wow now do you see how important it is for you to blog?!😉
    Hooray to selfless people left in this world!
    The Police video took me on a journey and I found inspiration to make some jewellery😍
    Keep up your great work and I look forward to hearing more about the school band 😉
    Hugs to you 😤

  2. Michele says:

    That is incredible! My grandson just started grade R – at a school very far removed from a farm school – and kept on telling me about the ‘marimbees’ at school and how cool they were! He was getting very heated about fact that I couldn’t work out what on earth he was talking about ! Turned out to be the marimba band from the girls school that played during a chapel service. He is captivated !!! The sound of a marimba band always elevates the spirit – so go for it! Wonderful idea! I am sure there are many school marimba bands or else contact st stithians girls school and chat to musical director or I can go meet on your behalf and pass on info. Let me know! Good luck and hopefully you will use a sound track from the band soon!!!

    • Cathy says:

      Hi Michele, it’s amazing how once you put an idea “out there” things start to happen. I’ve been given a few local contacts to follow up on – Michaelhouse apparently has a marimba band and there’s an ngo in Notties that teaches music. If nothing comes of these I’ll definitely appreciate some help from you – I’m particularly interested in where to buy second-hand instruments or even get some donated. Can’t wait to get our little marimbees started.

  3. Paul Williams says:

    Marimba band seems a super idea. Like the Caribbean steel drums, they combine rhythm and tunefulness with exuberance. I don’t think that I’ve played one, but they seem pretty sturdy, which gives some hope that they’ll survive the stage when exuberance is all you have before rhythm and tune are learned by the kids.
    When I was at UND one of the lunchtime concerts was given by a band using only traditional African instruments. The rhythms were very complex, and we were told that they were learned by memorising usually meaningless sentences with the desired rhythmic order.
    I have a recording of John Lennon practicing one of the White Album songs using the same idea. He was trying to strum his guitar and used the phrase “mother superior jumped the gun” to get it right. I think that’s the only reason for the strange phrase remaining in the lyrics.
    Oh, and we loved the word Marimbees!

Leave a Reply

