Simple Life 5

Picking up where I left off in December, I have recently discovered the simple pleasure of having a me space.

Since Kiera and Alex had already left home when we moved to the farm, their bedrooms here never really had the chance to fully become theirs. Unlike their bedrooms in our Durban family home which were very much geared to their individual tastes. Because they only visit here, there is no longer a need for them to have a bedroom of their own. Kiera’s beautiful cobalt blue bedroom under the thatch roof upstairs was the first to undergo a name change when it became the guest room. Alex’s room, downstairs, took longer to transform as he would visit us more frequently but since he left for America, I decided the time had come to make better use of his room.

I have spent the past couple of weeks reorganising it and turning it into a sanctuary for me; a place where I can retreat, close the door and be undisturbed. It’s a small room but I’ve managed to squeeze in a rather large bookcase and all my paraphernalia, gathered from the four corners of the house. It has taken on a sort of nest or pod–like feel as I’m literally surrounded by all my favourite things. This is where I go to write, read, edit photos, listen to music, daydream, plan (on my trusty flip chart) and meditate – cocooned in books and pictures. And for some reason, just having this space has inspired me to declutter, be better organised and more focussed on things that I enjoy doing – wish I had done this sooner.

I haven’t posted pictures of my garden for a while, so here goes.

moss-collage

We’ve had masses of rain recently and the garden is so lush and green and mossy.

green-garden

afternoon light in our sitting room

afternoon light in our sitting room

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Simple Life 5

  1. Mike says:

    Awesome sitting room. Nice to see some green. We are undergoing a heat wave. Grass brown, veggie garden just a brown patch and aircon running most days. Not drought as we get these really bad storms which dump a huge amount of water in a few minutes. Just all dries out in no time.

    • Cathy says:

      Thanks Mike. Over the past two weeks we’ve had really solid, soaking rain. Dams are filling up and our springs are up and running again. Yay, I can dust off the dishwasher at last!

      • Mike says:

        You live in a lovely spot. Rosanne’s grand parents lived in Howick and their garden was their pride and joy. Unfortunately this summer has decimated our modest attempt at a tropical paradise. However in anticipation of cooler times and some new walls around our place we spent a few enjoyable hours at the local nursery on Saturday. Lots of new plants selected and a lot of holes for me to dig.

      • Cathy says:

        I love pottering around our local nursery. I don’t buy many plants anymore as we have a jungle back home but I love to walk around and chat to other gardeners. And their coffee and homemade cakes aren’t bad either.

  2. Paul Williams says:

    It looks like you’ve had some good rain. When we flew into cape town on Wednesday afternoon the mountains had no green to them and we could see the farm dams were low or empty. Folk here are hoping for a wet winter but until then it’s full on water conservation measures.

    • Cathy says:

      Yes, we’ve had lovely rain here and in the catchment areas. Dams are filling up and our springs are flowing strongly again – what a relief. Hopefully the Cape will get its winter rain – it will be quite a contrast when you arrive in KZN.

Leave a Reply

